Early January Flick Finds

I finally got around to watching two movies I’ve been meaning to see for quite a while now.

The first, Lone Survivor, was an intense Peter Berg work based on the book by the same name. This is a tragic, sad film, and I don’t feel like I need to say “spoiler alert” when I say this, because the title pretty much says it all. I’ve been told the book is even better than the film, and I plan to read it because the film was crazy good. (For those who enjoy Lone Survivor, I highly recommend Peter Berg’s The Kingdom.)

I also finally got around to seeing Dallas Buyers Club, and what an amazing story that was. Now I finally get what all the Oscar fuss was about!

Lastly, while it’s not technically a “flick,” I just watched the first episode of VH1’s new scripted series Hindsight. Oh. My. Goodness. I thought I was obsessed with the 80s, but this is the first time I’ve felt a pang of nostalgia for the 90s! Hindsight has the charm of 13 Going On 30, but set in the Friends era. And speaking of the best sitcom ever, the entirety of Friends is up on Netflix. If you haven’t ever seen it, drop everything and watch it now, particularly Season 5, which IMO is the best season of them all.

Happy watching!

Leave a comment